Page 5 of 9

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:41 pm
by jppineda224
Hi! I have a new question.
I want to open a position when the price crosses an specific point of an indicator. The problem is that the indicator I want to use, only have 3 output streams of different levels and I want a level between two of these streams. The indicator streams are these.
DC25.DM= Output stream of the middle line of the Donchian Channel.
DC25.DN= Output stream of the lower line of the Donchian Channel.
DC25.DU= Output stream of the upper line of the Donchian Channel.
What I need is:
Output stream of the 1/4 line of the Donchian Channel and the output stream of the 3/4 of the Donchian Channel.
I want to know if the following expression is possible in the Strategy Wizard, and if so, why I receive an invalid formula notification.
Code: Select all
core.crossesOver( ((DC25.DM  - DC25.DN)/2), source.high, 0 )


(I manage to solve the spam notification lol)

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:51 am
by Valeria
Hi jppineda224,

We will post the example of the formula next week. Also it would be great if you sent the indicator which you use for the strategy or provided the link to download. You can email me from the forum.

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:14 am
by jppineda224
Hi Valeria, This is the indicator I use. Thx

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:54 am
by Apprentice
Code: Select all
 
Current_25 = Indicator.DN [period]+ (Indicator.DU[period]  - Indicator.DN[period])*0.25;
Current_75 = Indicator.DN [period]+ (Indicator.DU[period]  - Indicator.DN[period])*0.75;

Previous_25 = Indicator.DN [period-1]+ (Indicator.DU[period-1]  - Indicator.DN[period-1])*0.25;
Previous_75 = Indicator.DN [period-1]+ (Indicator.DU[period-1]  - Indicator.DN[period-1])*0.75;

if source.high[period] > Current_25   
and source.high[period-1] < Previous_25
then
end

if source.high[period] > Current_75   
and  source.high[period-1] < Previous_75
then
end


This is one of the possible approaches to the problem.

It is difficult to implement without knowing the final goal.
And access to the code if subject.

I use Indicator variable instead of DC25.

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 3:44 am
by nomad_trader
Hi,

How can I handle the fractal indicator using the FX Strategy Wizard?

Specifically I want to find the previous (latest) high and low fractal.
Fractal(0) is the value of the latest fractal?
Is it a high fractal or a low fractal?
If it is a high fractal how can I find the latest low fractal?

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 4:34 am
by Apprentice
First, you cannot refer to a fractal indicator, graphic elements.
U have to write a function that will search Fractals
using This fractal indicator Hepler.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=61323
Or write your own algorithm for Fractal detection within your code.

Something like this.

Code: Select all
function Find (current)

local Up = nil;
local Down=nil;

   for period = current, Fractal.DATA:first(), -1 do
       if Up == nil and  Fractal.SIGNAL == 1 then
        Up = period;
       end
       if Down == nil and  Fractal.SIGNAL == -1 then
       Up = period;
       end
      if Up~= nil and Down~= nil then
      break;
      end
   end

return Up, Down;
end



Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 4:54 am
by scottfree
Hello I'm Trying to work out a formula with FXSW that could restrict strategy from entering trades for a given amount of time, directly after a position has been entered. I was sure this was going to be relatively easy (& it probably is) to work out. Most everything else has gone together nicely but for whatever reason I'm way stuck n banging my head off this damn desk! ;~p in need of some pointers if anyone has the time to help sort this out I would be ever so grateful.

Thanks! ScottFree

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 7:38 am
by p_maltsev
Hi scottfree,

scottfree wrote:Hello I'm Trying to work out a formula with FXSW that could restrict strategy from entering trades for a given amount of time, directly after a position has been entered. I was sure this was going to be relatively easy (& it probably is) to work out. Most everything else has gone together nicely but for whatever reason I'm way stuck n banging my head off this damn desk! ;~p in need of some pointers if anyone has the time to help sort this out I would be ever so grateful.

Thanks! ScottFree


FX Strategy Wizard is designed to develop simple strategies. In your case, you get a complex strategy that cannot be developed by FX Strategy Wizard.
To develop complex strategies you should post your request to this thread

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:42 pm
by morroduarte
I'm trying to make a strategy that places a buy order on yesterdays high value.

I have two timeframes:
userselected
Tick

My data sources are
Symbol UserSelected Bid High Previous High
Symbol t1 Bid CurrentPrice

Expression
CurrentPrice (0) > PreviousHigh(1) InternalName (EntryBuy)

I'm getting the entry buy below yesterdays high.

Appreciate any help I can get.

Regards

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 6:37 am
by Apprentice
Can u provide strategy code.