Page 2 of 9

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:19 am
by toxxum
Thanks! So what do I need to do to get the current price, not the high/close/open/low?

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:20 am
by sunshine
toxxum wrote:Thanks! So what do I need to do to get the current price, not the high/close/open/low?

I am not sure what you mean by the current price. If you want your indicator to be re-calculated on each new tick, you should use a tick timeframe and choose an open, high, close or low stream as data type of data source, see images below. So then you will be able to choose tick source for indicators. Note that in this case you can only use indicators which are based on one stream (not a bar; the indicators based on bars require 4 prices (OHLC) to calculate one indicator value, e.g. Stochastic).

Timeframes.PNG

Data_source.PNG

indicators.PNG

I hope it helps.

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:12 am
by toxxum
It does, thank you very much!

FX Strategy WIzard Beta - MACD problem

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:08 pm
by ThemBonez
Hi,
I am using the FX Strategy wizard to create a strategy and I am ALMOST there. The one snag I am running into is in EXPRESSIONS I would like to use as a parameter "MACD.MACD ( 0 ) > MACD,SIGNAL ( 0 )", so that MACD is higher than the signal line, but the program seems to have a problem with this and says that the ">" is an error. I can do a crossover, but I cannot just do a general statement like this. Any suggestions?
Thanx

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 10:26 pm
by Valeria
Hi ThemBonez,

There is the mistake:
MACD.MACD ( 0 ) > MACD,SIGNAL ( 0 )

Should be:
MACD.MACD ( 0 ) > MACD.SIGNAL ( 0 )

Often such a minor mistake can be cause of the failure. If the error remains, please specify its text.

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:37 am
by ThemBonez
Thank you.
I saw that myself afterwards. Dud :)

Also, is it possible to import or load a strategy .lua file into the strategy wizard to make adjustments to the strategy?

Thanx

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
by ThemBonez
Also,
Im trying to create a strategy using Parabolic Sar with the Wizard, and can't seem to figure out the proper formula for the expression page.

I've tried the following but it doesn't seem to work:

FOr Long: core.crossesOver( DailyData.close, SAR.DN, 0 )
For SHort: core.crossesUnder( DailyData.close, SAR.UP, 0 )

Any suggestions?
Thanx

SAR Problem Followup

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 3:19 pm
by ThemBonez
Hello,
I am trying to get any kind of buy or sell signal using SAR and can not get a signal.
In the EXPRESSIONS section, I have tried each of the following and I either get no signals or a signal on every bar:

DailyData.close( 0 )>SAR.DN( 0 )
DailyData.close( 0 )>SAR.UP( 0 )
DailyData.close( 0 )<SAR.DN( 0 )
DailyData.close( 0 )<SAR.UP( 0 )
core.crossesOver( DailyData.close, SAR.DOWN, 0 )
core.crossesUnder( DailyData.close, SAR.DOWN, 0 )
core.crossesOver( DailyData.close, SAR.UP, 0 )
core.crossesUnder( DailyData.close, SAR.UP, 0 )
core.crossesOver(SAR.DOWN, SAR.UP, 0 )
core.crossesUnder(SAR.DOWN, SAR.UP, 0 )
SAR.UP( 0 )>SAR.DOWN
streamHasData( SAR.UP, 0 )
streamHasData( SAR.DOWN, 0 )

WHat I want to create is that I get a Long Signal when there is a Green Dot and a Short signal when there is a red dot.

WHat do I have to put in the expressions to make this happen?

Thank You

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:24 am
by Valeria
Hi ThemBonez,

Also, is it possible to import or load a strategy .lua file into the strategy wizard to make adjustments to the strategy?


It is impossible to modify .lua strategy in Strategy wizard.

Re: FX Strategy Wizard Beta

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:20 am
by Valeria
Hi ThemBonez,

I am trying to get any kind of buy or sell signal using SAR and can not get a signal.
In the EXPRESSIONS section, I have tried each of the following and I either get no signals or a signal on every bar...


Could you please explain the logic of the strategy?
1. Would you like the strategy to open the position when the new bar appears?
2. Or would you like the strategy to open the position only if the indicator crosses the price (when the dots change the color)?

Also, it would be great if you sent me the strategy wizard project, it would help me to find the errors.